Day eight. Don’t hate. Meditate. Feel great.

The statement is posted on every vehicles side view mirror, “OBJECTS IN MIRROR ARE CLOSER THAN THEY APPEAR.”

For anyone over the age of 16 who has obtained their drivers license, this posting is somewhat unnecessary.

We know that it is there, so we barely give it any thought or serious recognition.


I am 19 years young. Of course I have changed since middle school (thank goodness), but I think people become much too accustomed to their own reflection and slowly begin to give it less thought and even less deserved recognition.

We look at ourselves so repeatedly in the mirror that we often begin to not even recognize our very own reflections.


Maybe we should dry erase marker this onto our bathroom mirror or wall or somewhere where we stumble upon it every time we stumble upon looking at our reflection:

“WARNING: the reflections in this mirror may be distorted by socially constructed ideas of ‘beauty'”

Take a moment. Look in mirror. I mean really look in the mirror. You are beautiful.

Say it out-loud, repeatedly if you must to yourself, until you believe it wholeheartedly.

Look yourself in the eyes and say, “I am beautifully and wonderfully made.”

Even when you feel ugly or depressed or guilty or ashamed, there is a spark in you which is light. This light is your reflection of God. You are a child of God, thus you are beautiful.

God created you in His wonderful image; He created the Heavens and the Earth and all that inhabit it; God created you and you are beautiful too.

Despite what society says or thinks, you are beautiful.
Learn to be comfortable and confident in you own skin.
Yoga is helping me become closer to that everyday. (Day eight. Celebrate a better you.)
It brings much joy to day to day activities.

Stay beautiful.
Bangarang.

<< featured image: taken in the dorm room hallway prior to church this wonderful Sunday morning. (disclaimer: I know I broke my own NYR of making 2015 the year of the un-selfie, however I felt it necessary to have a picture of me in a mirror to grasp the full effect of the blog post topic.) I mean hey, I think I’m beautiful >>

Leave a Reply

