Detroit

Detroit – the motor city capitol of the world. Some may argue that Detroit has fallen, but in my opinion as well as the opinions of others, Detroit is still standing strong. I am aware that there are social issues surrounding Detroit – such as flaws in the education system, frequent home vacancy, and a surrounding negative stigma. I’ve learned about these issues through various presentations, conversation, and my own personal experience.
Let’s not end our conversation there though.
Let’s do something about it.
I’ve been given the opportunity to accompany the Leadership Institute (LI) at Central Michigan University on a service learning experience to Detroit. We will be working with Jane Brooks Leadership Academy students as well as Detroit Blight Busters on a service project. I am going to be able to serve others through facilitating leadership activities with students and volunteer my hard work and time to give back to the residents in the community of Detroit.
This experience that I’ve been offered exemplifies exactly what the Leadership Institute stands for and envisions for its students. This service opportunity is one small slice of the many programs the LI organizes to help prepare the “next generation of individuals who will act responsibly to improve the quality of life, state of the economy, and communities in which they live and work.”
I know that this trip to the D is going to help all of those I come into contact with as well as help myself grow as an individual and leader. I am going into it with an open mind and a willingness to learn more about others, my surroundings, and myself. It may be stretching me out of my comfort zones, but that is one of my favorite ways to grow as an individual.
With excited spirits we here at the Leadership Institute at CMU gear up and band together to prepare our hearts and souls for this adventure we have anxiously awaiting us.
Stay tuned,
Post trip updates soon to come,
Danielle
Leave a Reply

