#LeadChat [ 4.15.2015 ]

So the Leadership Institute’s Twitter page hosts this thing called a Lead Chat. The LI posts questions and people respond using the hash tag #LeadChat to carry on the conversation and keep it going. Last Wednesday the Lead Chat was held within our LDR 200 L class. Here’s an inside scoop of what it looks like, feel free to join next time!

Q1. What qualities do you look for in a mentor?

In a mentor I look for someone who exhibits enthusiasm to be my mentor. I don’t want a stick-in-the-mud mentor who is simply stuck having to advise me. I also want a mentor who everyday motivates me to be a better version of myself, also while being conscious of their surroundings and bettering the environment around them: whether that be through sharing smiles with strangers or picking up trash along the side of the road.

Q2. What are your expectations of your mentee?

In speaking of a relationship of mentor/mentee, I expect my mentee to challenge and encourage me the same I do with them. I do not believe it is too much to ask for unconditional love as well. I don’t expect my personal mentors to have all the answers to all of my questions (that is quite impossible for any Earthly human to contain), and I expect them to not expect the same of me.

Q3. What is the difference between a mentor and a role model?

A mentor is someone who is in constant contact, continuously working towards bettering their mentee & themselves. I think that a mentor can be a role model, but a role model might not necessarily be a mentor. Both however, have a positive effect and influence on the life of the mentee.

Q4. What communication tools work best with a mentor/mentee relationship?

In face communication would be ideal. Mentorships are a two-way-street. A give/take meaningful relationship. It takes both parties to work towards and create this relationship. ↔ When a mentor & mentee give to each other, both benefit in the end.

Q5. Who do you look to as a mentor? How have they had an impact on you?

Amanda Yats, Katie Rae, and Claire Guthrie are three wonderful young ladies that I look to as a mentor. They challenge me to grow as a leader, a women of God, & as a human being of this wonderful place of Earth. I hope that I am able to positively influence these ladies in the way that they have positively influenced me.

Have a mentor,
Be a mentor,
Danielle

Leave a Reply

