You Can’t Always Get What You Want ♦ ♦ ♦

My oh my, does time fly by.

Just today I revisited my New Year’s Resolutions that were set in stone 5 months and 4 days ago (read here).
I found myself being brutally honest with myself asking a rather hard question to answer: Have I made any sort of progress towards these resolutions? Not completely disregarding the fact that I’ve possibly achieved any, because in my eyes there is always room to grow. But I’d thought I’d revisit a couple of them, and update myself on my progress. Sometimes a rude awakening and a quick swift kick in the rear is what I need to help guide me back on track.

As a leader?
Well, I filled out an application, put myself out there, and ran for an executive board (e-board) position in my Fashion Merchandising and Design Association (FAMD) RSO (Registered Student Organization), but ya know that silly thing about life? My mom would be proud because The Rolling Stones taught me this one, ‘You can’t always get what you want’ (listen to song here). Unfortunately I did not receive an e-board position.

But wait, there’s more. I’m owning to the fact that I’m okay with that. Because where one door closes, God opens up another door for me to walk confidentially right though. This upcoming fall semester I will be a Resident Assistant in Woldt Hall. I am beyond excited for this opportunity and the learning experiences it brings.

As for sharing my passions with those around me?
This summer I will have an internship as a contributing writer/ambassador for CollegeFashionisha. This opportunity will continue itself over to my next semester at college here at CMU where I will be able to continue to share my love for fashion and writing.

This summer I will also be working as a summer camp counselor with SpringHill Day camps. Unlike the overnight camp that stays located in Evart, MI, the day camp travels to various locations and brings SpringHIll camp to surrounding churches and schools that host us. We provide our own transportation and live with host families to the places we travel. Our locations are as follows: Beecher, IL, Dyer, IN (2 weeks), Grand Rapids MI, Allendale MI, Detroit MI, Zeeland MI, Hudsonville MI, Ludington MI, Belding MI. I love to travel !

It’s been a busy year and there’s a lot for me to be looking forward to. Looking back I’ve come a far way and I’m proud of the progress I’ve made. In keeping my Food ‘n’ Mood Journal (read more about it here) I was able to become more aware and conscious of the food I was consuming and the moods I felt during it and after the fact.

In my journey to a healthier life, I was challenged by my dear friend to start small. She encouraged me to focus on #OneSimpleChange instead of tackling all of my eating at once (read her amazing write here).

How have I grown as a leader since I arrived on campus in August 2014?
I have gained so much knowledge about different leadership theories (read more here soon to come), about working with teams, and about following being just as important as leading.

I found out where my niche was. I learned I really love talking to strangers and making meaningful conversation. This essentially forces me to step out of my comfort zone and be intentional with my time. Disconnecting (with electronics) to connect (with people). I also realized through my service trip to Detroit (read more about my experience here) that I am a people person, especially younger children.

I have followed the restless urge to find myself,
And I’m falling head over heels in love with life in the process,
And I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

No way am I where I would like to be,
But I am not where I was to begin with
And that’s enough for me to be happy with my progress

In the midst of a warmblossoming, colorful, green of spring,
Keep it real, Danielle 

[feat. image – taken in an awesome bathroom]

Leave a Reply

