I thank God for the little things

In this time of thanks, it’s easy to just think about the big picture. I am thankful for my family, my friends, etc. and don’t think that what I’m trying to get at is to not be thankful for those. I’m saying quite the opposite. Be thankful for the big things, but also take the time to notice the small things and be thankful for those too. Maybe this poem will inspire you to be thankful a little deeper this Thanksgiving season (and beyond).


 

I thank God for the little things

Like zipper pulls, fusible interfacing, and those dull knifes to spread cream cheese on a fresh (gluten free) bagel.

I thank God for the little things

Like aglets, the feet things on the bottom of chair legs, buttons, button holes, fully functioning bodily organs, rainy days, and a good book.

I thank God for the little things

Like blender blades, dirty dishes, clip boards, fingernails, those erie moments before a big storm, spontaneous unexpected hugs.

I thank God for the little things

Like handles, fun stickers on laptop cases, fresh oxygen, toilet paper, extension chords, work boots, old rugged authentic buses, imagination, gravity, and sticky notes.

I thank God for hot water, plastic containers, cold pizza, freshly fallen snow, fun colored fuzzy socks, the ability to whistle, phytoplankton, assortments of cutlery, foaming soap, anonymous acts of kindness, laughter, and laminin.

I thank You God, for the big, but especially for little things.


 

All the little things in life that often go unnoticed,
but when recognized they can’t help but point to God.↑
Today I give thanks to God for the big and the little things in life.

What little (or big) things are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

