DAY 001 || YEAR 021

As I begin another adventure filled trip around the sun, I reflect on a journal entry my (roughly) 13-year-old self wrote. I didn’t know then the truth in which it would resonate with me many years later. [ PSA – the original grammar remains, so please excuse the (many) mistakes in advance ]
“Some people are cool. Some are weird. And some are just plain old goofy! But that is what makes the world go round. Some people probably call me weird being my back but I don’t care. I just ignore them. I think I’m creative, funny, and probably weird, but I love myself. And nobody can stop that. I always say I love myself when I do something cool that I like. Well, I love myself! Also, whoever is reading this story probably thinks that I am a dork and the weirdest person in the world. But, whatever! I love myself! Boha!”
Okay, so I really have no idea how rough my day at middle school actually was to get to the point where I sat myself down to write that (although I know I had some pretty bad ones). I did not know I would struggle with believing in my heart what I was writing then from my head. I’m a quirky comrade with unexplainable habits that often lead me down a self-desstructive path of self-consciousness and self-doubt.

In the rough times then and now, I reread, rewrite, relearn these truths:
1 Corinthians 13:13 And now abide these three: faith, hope and love.
But the greatest of these is love.
1 John 4:8 But anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.
1 John 4:19 “We love because He first loved us.”
Mark 12:30-31 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ (31) The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.
KEY POINT: When I feel down in the slumps and like nothing good remains, love remains. God is here / there because God is love, and because of Him I am able to love. On another note, I am unable to fully ‘love my neighbor as myself’ when I am unable to love myself. It’s a vicious cycle when taking the wrong route. God loves me and in return I love God. I must love myself in order to love my neighbors.
Love God. Love Yourself. Love Others. 
Leave a Reply

